Can't find a rating for my shoulder injury, someone can you help me here?

Discussion in 'Orthopedic Injuries' started by copterdocter101, Jan 30, 2010.

1. copterdocter101

copterdocter101 PEB Forum Regular Member

I have just started my MEB process, so I am a bit ignorant on how things work. I have heard horrible stories about people not geting a good rating and stuck with it even after an appeal. I injured my shoulder in 2005 in Iraq. I didn't hurt any bones or muscles it was all cartilage and tendons. Now in 2009 I had 2 surgeries to prevent repetitive dislocation and loss of ROM. My ROM is still bad, almost shoulder height in front of me and 45 deg. to the side. My main concern is thyat I won't get any rating for minimal strength. My profession is a helicopter mechanic and this is my dominant arm. I can't hand a bowl of soup to my wife, I would think this is qualifying for decent compensation? If anyone can help please write back!
    Thanks, Josh
  2. Jason Perry

Jason Perry Site Founder Staff Member PEB Forum Veteran

copterdocter101,

Loss of strength is part of the Deluca criteria for rating range of motion. The examiner should account for this in evaluating your Range of Motion. Hope this helps and that you get a good outcome. Best of luck!
  3. copterdocter101

copterdocter101 PEB Forum Regular Member

Thank you for the speedy reply, do you know where I can learn more about this? Also, When evaluating my shoulder, I looked in the VASRD rating list about muscular injuries to the dominant arm, do the apply a rating for each axis of the shoulder or only one i.e out to the side and to the from? Thank you so much for the help, It really helps to hear from someone, my unit isn't any help and I am hoping to get a guess of my percentage to make living arrangments once I go back to USA. Tahnks again.
    Josh
  4. usafvet

usafvet PEB Forum Regular Member

Can someone help me understand the information below.
    Thanks
    usafvet
    Shoulder ROM, ROM shoulder;