VA Disability and the National Guard

Discussion in 'Intro' started by allen2508, Sep 2, 2009.

1. allen2508

allen2508 PEB Forum Regular Member

Hey, I need some serious help.

2. allen2508

Hi,

I am a veteran of Iraq and Afcrackistan. I have recently become symptomatic of PTSD. PROBLEM: The VA thinks I should seek disability, which wouldn't hurt my wallet, but I'm in the National Guard and don't know if they'll kick me out or what. Does anyone have any insight as to what percentage I will be eligible to receive before I would be medically dishcharged?

Thanks

3. Gomez

Gomez PEB Forum Veteran

There's no certain PTSD percentage for which they'll kick you out. However, if you've been rated by the VA, when you fill out the Guard's annual physical health assessment form, you are supposed to check a box that asks if you are receiving any VA disability compensation. The form also requires you to disclose any psych treatment or diagnosis you've received. Once you complete these, you are likely to be flagged and possibly be considered for MMRB and MEB since you would possibly meet the non-retention standards set forth in AR 50-401. Seems many Guard soldiers are not reporting these so they can stay "under the radar" and not be kicked out. Of course, not reporting these on the form could be fraudulent. I am in Guard and was diagnosed in 2005 with PTSD. I've been reporting it since then on these forms, but for some reason, they are just now (4 years later) initiating MMRB on me.

4. Jason Perry

Jason Perry Benevolent Leader Site Founder Staff Member PEB Forum Veteran

allen,