WTU Soldier-- Social security benefits

Discussion in 'Army Warrior Transition Units' started by kn1080, Jan 14, 2010.

1. kn1080

kn1080 PEB Forum Veteran

I am an army WTU soldier. I recently found out we're able to recieve Social Security benefits while in WT status. The state of Rhode Island has been denying people left and right for benefits. Does anyone think its a good idea to retain an attorney before even applying to assure that everything goes smoothly?
  2. OneFavor

OneFavor PEB Forum Veteran

Not necessarily, but you can. For most part social security will usually deny you, when that happens appeal the decision. Do not reapply, but appeal there is a huge difference. I applied through the wounded warriors part of social security, which is suppose to give you a decision a little faster, of course there are those that fall through the cracks. Be prepared, make sure you have a copy of all of your medical documentation, names & addresses of those providing your medical care, even statements from your employer/unit/ famliy to tell how your disability impacts you. Social security wants to see that the disability will affect you or has affected you for at least a year. I was injured in 08 and applied in April 09, got approval in Oct 09. Each story is different, each state is different. Having an attorney the first time does not guarantee anything.
  3. nlaw37

nlaw37 PEB Forum Veteran

My social worker told me today that it's weird because it seems like once the Social Security Administration sees an attorney, they grant it. This doesn't mean you NEED to get one, because he also told me that the SSA has been granting more and more vets/warriors that benefit. So, it's not exactly a science, but odds are favoring acceptance for Social Security (so I've heard). He told me usually they deny soldiers the first time to make sure they aren't fooling anyone, kind of like a filter for those who are faking and undeserving, I guess.