Retinitis Pigmentosa and the National Guard

I have been in the National Guard for going on 19 years. I have had 2 tours in Iraq and was recently diagnosed with Retinitis Pigmentosa. I am already legally blind and have no idea where I stand on MEB. I also have COPD/Asthma from the burn pits and breathing in the dust in Iraq. I have file for C&P with the VA and was told this will be service aggrevated. Will the military go by what the VA rating is or will this be a beast all on its own since I am already legally blind? I just don't want to reach the point where they just put me out due to not being to make it to IDT each month. I am also a Federal Technician so I know my fate there.

I'm sorry to hear about your conditions. Have you talked to your medical provider at the NG? As your probably know RP is an inherited disorder and thus probably not service connected, but may have been aggravated by the bright light or Iraq. Do you have a LOD on your respiratory diseases?

I reported the cough before leaving Iraq and several times after returning. The VA finally sent me in 2013 for PFT at first it was RADS then on my problem list the COPD/Asthema showed up in 2016. The VA rep told me that since the RP was found while I am still in service then it should be aggrevated but not connected and I have so many years in. The VA sent me for more PFT tests for my copd claim. I have C&P exams for the end of the month. I know one of them is for my ankle that I ended up having surgery on and it is LOD. I haven't had any information yet that pertains to the RP. All I have done with the MEDCOM is sign my release so they can pull my VA medical records. I ask my medical person for the DRU and all I get is " I turned the form in for them to pull your records from the VA". I have no idea if it the MEB has been started.