End of MEB/misconduct

hopes&dreams15

PEB Forum Regular Member
Registered Member
I am a 1LT (probationary officer) with 3 YOS. I am going through a MED board. I received my ratings, signed my 199 and I am now waiting to be put on the transition list next week. Unfortunately for me, I also just received a counseling for testing positive in a UA. My chain of command enrolled me in ASAP and I also just had my initial interview with CID for the investigation. They informed that this wil put a hault to the IDES process. However, my lawyer said it cannot stop my process until they officially take some type of action of separation. In the counseling it stated I will be recommended for UCMJ action and/or GOMOR but that the CG has the unltimate decision. I know I don't have the right to a board since I am a probationary officer. I also know that my ETS date will be 90 days from when I receive it. Now, knowing that my MEB will not be put to a hault unless the CG signs a form taking action, is it possible I could ETS before this whole thing goes down? As soon as I was counseled I assumed my MED board was automatically put on hold. But when I spoke with my lawyer about what was going on, he advised me to just "run for the door". this seems a bit sneaky but this is what he is telling me I should try to do. Is this good advice?? To just let everything run its course and just hope for the best?

It depends on how your unit wants to play it. You can try to run for the door and hope you get your clearing orders and get out without them doing anything. BUT if your command pushes it to the CG quickly and he decides to stop your IDES then you will be stuck dealing with that from your choices. So the only thing you can hope for is your unit or the CG just saying screw it and let you finish clearing and be out.