Former Officer enlists and wonders what retired 20 AFS pay will be

Rappelmaster115

Registered Member
I am a Former Army officer (04) that served 17 years AGR. I came up on MRD and had to enlist as an E5 to get my last 3 years of AD, no one can tell me if I will retire and be paid as an 04 or E5 for my retirement upcoming? Anyone shed some hopefully good news for me and the REG that has it in writing. Thanks

Most people would say "Last 3 years" because in effect, your highest 3 years of pay would normally be your last 3 of service.

In your case the qualifier is the "highest 36 months of pay" , DFAS will use your entire service to find this.

This is why "Rank" and "Pay Grade" do matter to a few people, it can be different for many reasons.

Hello @Rappelmaster115 ,

The following is one of the sources DFAS uses for its info regarding retired pay.

Reference: Under Secretary of Defense (Comptroller) > FMR > vol7b_chapters <---LINK
DoD 7000.14-R Financial Management Regulation Volume 7B, Chapter 3

030205. Reservist (Meets Age and Service Requirements) (Table 3-1, Rule 13)

2. For a member who entered service after September 7, 1980, the retired pay base is determined as prescribed in subparagraph 030201.
A. The high-36 months of such a member are the 36 months for which the pay was the highest, whether or not consecutive, out of all the months before the member became entitled to retired pay or would have become entitled to retired pay. This will be the 36 months immediately preceding receipt of retired pay even though the member may not have been in an active status during such time. However, DFAS may only use months during which the individual was a member of a uniformed service for this purpose.