script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js">

MEB or seek treatment?

qaz212

Registered Member
I am a USAF active duty pilot with ten years in service. I have chronic low back pain (Degenerative disk disease, herniated disk, radiculopathy) since 2016. During a mission overseas recently, I suffered an airplane accident. Because of the airplane accident, I was diagnosed with severe PTSD. Migraines, nightmares, flashbacks, and depression are now part of my life.

Specifically for my low back pain, my doctor placed me on a one-year profile (restrictions on lifting, running, and deployments). I had only been on the profile for a month before the time-period was changed from 1 year to 3 months. This profile now has a month left to expire. Reason: My doctor stated that the clinic deployment and readiness team (also known as the AMRO) was meeting after the profile expires, and they would then decide whether to board me medically.

Meanwhile, I continued seeing my clinical psychologist. She conducted structured evaluations and just recently discussed the PTSD diagnosis with me. She gave me two options: MEB referral if I am done with the operational environment or start treatment. I decide in a week.

Questions for the group:

(1) I find the profile change from a one-year profile to 3 months for the chronic back pain very strange. My lawyer felt the same way. Do you see a reason for concern?

(2) I am done with flying and the ops environments in the USAF. I spend most of my days and nights thinking about the airplane incident. My social life and work productivity are in the toilet. I am relying on my faith to get me through PTSD. There is no right answer but -- does it make sense to go with the MEB referral now and forego the treatment? I am leaning on going with the MEB.

K_Jahlon

Registered Member