Naive Question about CRSC from Newcomer

TyBo

Registered Member
Greetings All. I'm new to this board so please forgive if I'm posting to the wrong place. I'm considering applying for CRSC but I confess when I see some of the very strong cases here that have been denied, it makes me somewhat hesitant to even bother. As background, I'm 100% P&T for PTSD from the VA from Desert Storm and Somalia. Although all stressors were from combat units in combat positions, the VA coded the disability as 'not related to combat'. It's possible they did that as I did not file until 21 years after the war. I just don't know. Regardless, it's a 100% P&T rating tied to stressors from two separate combat actions.
I guess I'll know a little more when I get the code sheet, but if I file for CRSC now (almost 30 years after Desert Storm), I don't have nearly the records that many of you do. I can conclusively prove with medical and military records that I have severe PTSD and that I was an Armor Officer in an Armor Battalion deployed for combat in Operation Desert Storm and later a Special Operations Officer in a Special Operations Task Force deployed for contingency operations in Mogadishu, Somalia. Further that the VA accepted that my PTSD was caused by service in those two operations (although for some reason did not code it 'related to combat).
Is this enough to reasonably expect favorable consideration from the Army for CRSC or am I likely wasting my time? Thanks guys.

Welcome aboard. No need to worry about posting in the wrong place, make your best guess and press on.

I say file and let your service work through the motions. Using a veteran service officer may help you get your claim organized in a way that increases the possibility of being approved. Your local DAV unit or county probably has a veteran service officer.