Need Mental Health MEB!

TempCamelMeow

Registered Member
I am a 21 year active duty member, unable to retire for 2.5 years due to ADSC. Here’s my problem-I really think I need a MEB for mental health issues. I’ve been in and off meds for depression, anxiety, and sleep problems most of my career. The last year has been horrible. My depression has been so bad I got hospitalized overnight for suicidal ideation. My anxiety is so bad that I can’t sleep until 3am many nights a week, recently being up as many as 35 hours in a row. I’m getting in trouble at work. My thought process is fuzzy at times. I was CC-directed to ADAPT last month because I was using alcohol to cope with the anxiety (30 days sober now). The meds don’t seem to be helping. I honestly don’t think my mental health is such that I am fit to serve in the military and in my rank.

I told the PCM that I think I need an MEB, but he said only MH can refer a MEB for mental health issues. MH whom I’ve been seeming for 9 months doesn’t think we’re there yet.

Is there anything I can do to convince the AF that I need an MEB?? I’d retire if I could, but I can’t and just feel trapped in this situation that is bad for my mental state. Help!

(Diagnoses is adjustment disorder with anxiety and depression.)

gsfowler

Super Moderator
Staff Member
PEB Forum Veteran
You PCM is correct. Continue to work with BH, in my opinion the end goal should be to get healthy, if that does not work then a MEB will fall into place.

Chaps_Z

PEB Forum Regular Member
PEB Forum Veteran
Registered Member
One thing you have against you, in my opinion, is that you have made it 21 years and seemingly able to perform.

I realize you probably sucked it up and made it happen but just letting you know the way they look at things from that perspective.

tony292

PEB Forum Regular Member
PEB Forum Veteran