Question bout a rating

WindyinKuwait

PEB Forum Regular Member
PEB Forum Veteran
Hi All,

Im the newbie here...litterally. This is all new to me. I am not sure if this is proper place to ask this question, but I was looking for a code for Osteopenia on the VARSD links. I found it for Osteoporosis, but not for osteopenia, which is the early stages of osteoporosis. Im only in my 30's and fractured my femur at the neck {where it goes into your hip} while in Kuwait. Medevac'd to Germany for emergency surgery, then medevac'd home. Eight months later and my fracture still hasnt completely healed. I have three long screws in my femur. Its been a long rode to recovery {had to learn how to walk again}. Anyway, my question is, is there a code/rating for Osteopenia.

Thanks so much for your help,
Windy

I have a friend with osteopenia--we searched in vain for the code in the VASRD. When you receive your rating you will receive a "like" rating. Meaning there is not a specific code but your disease is LIKE whatever they rate you as having.

Best of luck to you in your recovery.

The literature on the web indicates this diagnosis is contraversial at best. It has to do with bone density. Did they give you a bone density rating of between -1.0 and -2.5? A large section of the population falls into this classification. The closest group in the VASRD is 5013-5024:

"The diseases under diagnostic codes 5013 through 5024 will be rated on limitation of motion of affected parts, as arthritis, degenerative, except gout which will be rated under diagnostic code 5002."

5002 Arthritis rheumatoid (atrophic) As an active
process:
With constitutional manifestations associated
with active joint involvement, totally incapaci-
tating ................................................................. 100

AF Cop

The above rating is for rheumatoid arthritis under 5002. Degenerative Arthritis is actually code 5003.