Honorable Admin Sep vs Medical Retirement

LNJ4ALL

PEB Forum Regular Member
Registered Member
Hello everyone this is my first time posting and I'm not sure if I am posting in the right area.

I have found tons of useful information and assistance from the PEB Forum, but I am going through an IDES and I have a few questions:

1). I just received my AF Form 356. My Category I Unfitting Condition is Adjustment Disorder w/ Anxiety and my Category II Conditions are Bilateral Flat Feet, Tinnitus, and Cholecystectomy w/ Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease. The combined compensable percentage is 50% and the recommended disposition is Permanent Retirement.

2). The VA ratings were:

- Persistent Adjustment Disorder - 50%
- Bilateral Flat Feet - 30%
- Tinnitus - 10%
- Cholecystectomy w/ Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease - 10%
- I had 4 other conditions that I was rated 0% for and I understand that I have those reevaluated

3). My questions are:

- What does this all mean as far as benefits for my children and I?

- I went through an Admin Discharge Board and the Board found that there was a basis for discharge (Minor Disciplinary Infractions) but that my service characterization is Honorable. I am currently on Med Hold until the MEB process is over. Is there a chance that the SECAF can choose the Honorable Discharge from the Admin Board over the Permanent Medical Retirement? I am currently contesting actions taken by my CC through the AFBCMR but I am more concerned with these two processes because they effect my family as well.

- What happens next?

ANY help you can provide is GREATLY appreciated!

I assume Minor Disciplinary Infractions is under misconduct? If so, then there is a choice between giving you the admin discharge and the retirement. If it is not misconduct, then they have to go with the medical retirement. Reason is the worst type of discharge that can be directed. For misconduct it is under other than honorable.