Looking for more perspectives...

Atomic_47

Registered Member
I am a former Army nurse who was medically retired due to Major Depressive Disorder and Anxiety Disorder NOS. The lead-up to my separation was an embarrassing and heart-breaking affair. I had spent five years earning my commission through ROTC and was planning to make a career as an officer. I was only three months away from attending the OB-GYN nursing course at Darnell when I had a panic attack that ultimately led to my separation.

During the interim between my panic attack and my separation I was removed from inpatient care and essentially made to do pointless busy work. I was eventually re-assigned to a clinic, but even that was just a holding pen I was placed in so my superiors wouldn't have to deal me. My commanding officer confidently assured me that this wouldn't hurt my chances of making CPT while simultaneously omitting that I had been given a profile which barred me from deployment or handling weapons. She repeatedly assured me that I was a valued officer while simultaneously telling my CDE-assigned psychologist that I was essentially an emotionally-volatile nut who was a detriment to the hospital's mission. When I confronted her about the glaring inaccuracies in my medical record she essentially shrugged her shoulders and told me she thought I would be great in the civilian world.

I wasn't even given the privilege of a send-off. I was told to plan my own going-away party which none of my commanding officers or NCOs attended.