National Guard Medical Discharge

Mr. Purder

Registered Member
Good Afternoon All,
I am a first time poster on this. Really not sure where to place the question, so here goes:

I was a nurse in the IL Air National Guard, and received a (honorable) medical discharge in 2001 due to a failed bunionectomy. I was in a F-16 unit, and was considered "not worldwide deployable," which was the reason for the separation. I do have Active Duty time, but it was not while I was IN the Guard.

The events that occurred, as I can best recall, was this: After being put on profile, the Commander of the Medical unit (of which I was a member) requested my civilian medical records. He reviewed them, did a cursory physical exam on me, then made the determination that due to the above condition, I would receive a medical discharge. There was no Medical Evaluation Board done. Just a simple discharge. My total time in service was approx. 6 years active duty, and 6 years Guard/Reserves.

I have 2 questions:
1. Am I eligible to apply for VA C&P benefits?
2. Should I have received a PEB for the possibility of separation benefits from the national Guard?

1. Am I eligible to apply for VA C&P benefits?

You are eligible to apply, sure. But would need to know more about your case and the nature of the injury to say whether you should be granted service connection. Was your condition incurred or aggravated while on orders or while performing military duty? Do you have a line of duty determination? If you are unsure, I would apply sooner rather than later as benefits are granted as of date of claim in cases like yours. If you wait, and you are entitled, you will just lose money.

2. Should I have received a PEB for the possibility of separation benefits from the national Guard?