Just getting started, folks...

thizzle29

PEB Forum Regular Member
Registered Member
Good Day, people. I'm just getting started in my IDES process. I'm 47 years old, have 28+ years in the Air National Guard (E1 to O5) and have deployed to many places including Iraq and Afghanistan. I'm also a federal technician and have been in the federal system for 11 years currently. I have been 100% P&T with the VA since Oct 2019. 50% is for "Other Specific Trauma and Stressor Related Disorder." Other percentages are for physical disabilities (back, knees, etc.).

I wish to medically retire from the military. I think my MEB/PEB was filed 2 Jan 2024 based on some info I saw on my RIP, although I began giving my paperwork and told my intent to the Dir of Psych Health in Apr of 2023. My NARSUM was written by my Dir of Psychological Health and my commander did my commander's impact statement based on what I asked him to (me to medically retire). I also supplied doctors notes from my psychiatrists (yes, two) and my primary care manager from the VA. I'm curious to know if, by the way my NARSUM is written, I could tell if I would have a good chance of maxing out the final DoD rating of 75%. Any help is appreciated. Here are some excerpts from my NARSUM (I know we normally wouldn't have access to these):

(18) Diagnoses

Generalize Anxiety Disorder: Per MSD (31 July2023, Sec Q) member requires and waiver due to Q2A, Q2C,Q3B, Q3C and Q5D.

Insomnia: Per MSD (31 July2023, Sec Q) member requires and waiver due to Q2A, Q2C,Q3B, Q3C and Q5D.

Panic Disorder: Per MSD (31 July2023, Sec Q) member requires and waiver due to Q2A, Q2C,Q3B, Q3C and Q5D.

PTSD: Per MSD (31 July2023, Sec Q) member requires and waiver due to Q2A, Q2C,Q3B, Q3C and Q5D.

Major Depressive Disorder: Per MSD (31 July2023, Sec Q) member requires and waiver due to Q2A, Q2C,Q3B, Q3C and Q5D.

ADHD: Per MSD (31 July2023, Sec Q) member requires and waiver due to Q2A, Q2C,Q3B, Q3C and Q5D.

(20) Military and Social Impairment